Lucknow Metro Map 2026: Routes, Tickets and Fares
Last updated: August 16, 2026
Last updated: August 16, 2026
Lucknow Metro Service Updates
Daily operating hours run from 6:00 AM to 10:30 PM, with the final trains departing CCS Airport and Munshipulia at 10:30 PM. Check UPMRC’s operating hours notice before planning a late journey.
The Lucknow Metro map shows the operating Red Line between CCS Airport and Munshipulia. This guide explains its 21 stations, current fares, ticketing, timetable, tourist connections and the approved but non-operating Phase 1B corridor.
Contents
The Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation (UPMRC) says it completed and opened the full 22.9 km North-South Corridor in a record time of less than 4.5 years.
The operating route runs from CCS Airport to Munshipulia. It has 21 open stations, comprising 17 elevated and four underground stations. UPMRC’s map labels the operating corridor the Red Line.
The first Transport Nagar-to-Charbagh section entered commercial service on September 5, 2017. The complete corridor from the airport to Munshipulia became operational on March 8, 2019.
Lucknow Metro Rail Corporation began under the LMRC name and became Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation on October 23, 2019 after its mandate expanded. The corporation remains the operator of the Lucknow system.
Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation’s current map shows the Red Line’s 21 stations between CCS Airport and Munshipulia.
South to north, the line serves CCS Airport, Amausi, Transport Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Singar Nagar, Alambagh, Alambagh Bus Station, Mawaiya, Durgapuri, Charbagh, Husain Ganj, Sachivalaya, Hazratganj, KD Singh Stadium, Vishwavidyalay, IT Chauraha, Badshah Nagar, Lekhraj Market, Bhootnath Market, Indira Nagar and Munshipulia.
The 2025 Comptroller and Auditor General audit using operator data recorded 71,016 passenger journeys per day in FY 2023/24. The corporation reported over 120 million cumulative journeys by September 4, 2025; these units are not directly comparable.
The original 2015 approval described 22 stations, but only 21 were built. The Comptroller and Auditor General report states that Mahanagar was dropped and CCS Airport was built underground instead of following the original station design.
The reliable operating figures are the 22.9 km total length and the split of 17 elevated and four underground stations.
The Red Line directly serves Chaudhary Charan Singh International Airport through the underground CCS Airport station. It also provides direct rides to Charbagh and Hazratganj without changing trains.
From the airport, Hazratganj is 13 stations including both endpoints and costs ₹40 (≈ USD 0.42). Charbagh is 10 stations including both endpoints and costs ₹30 (≈ USD 0.31). No official segment-by-segment journey times are published for these rides.
Terminal 3 handles domestic and international traffic. Neither the airport nor the metro operator publishes an exact terminal-to-station walking route, distance or transfer time, so travelers should follow current landside signs and allow extra time.
Charbagh Metro station and Charbagh Railway Station are separate facilities. The operator directs rail passengers toward Gate 2 and gives the onward walk as about 0.4 km or six minutes.
Old Lucknow landmarks need a road transfer. KD Singh Babu Stadium is the useful Red Line station for Bara Imambara and Rumi Darwaza, which are about 3.1 km and 3.5 km away by road respectively.
Hazratganj station serves the central shopping district through exits toward Janpath, Naza and Mayfair, the cathedral and Halwasiya, and Atal Chowk. Choose the exit for the precise address rather than assuming one universal exit.
The current line has no Gomti Nagar station, so there is no journey entirely by metro from Charbagh to Gomti Nagar. On August 4, 2026, city bus 101 linked Charbagh with Patrakarpuram, while PMI-07(A) ran via 1090 and Gomti Nagar landmarks. Check the current city bus timetable because these schedules can change.
| Attraction or destination | Line | Station | Practical note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Bara Imambara | Red Line plus road transfer | KD Singh Babu Stadium | The sight is not directly served by the metro. Continue about 3.1 km by road and check the current local transport option. |
| Rumi Darwaza | Red Line plus road transfer | KD Singh Babu Stadium | The sight is not directly served by the metro. Continue about 3.5 km by road rather than treating the route as a walk. |
| Hazratganj | Red Line | Hazratganj | Choose the exit for the actual address. Station exits serve Janpath, Naza and Mayfair, the cathedral and Halwasiya, and the Atal Chowk area. |
| Charbagh Railway Station | Red Line | Charbagh | Leave toward Gate 2. The separate railway station is about 0.4 km away, with an operator-listed walk of six minutes. |
| Ambedkar Memorial Park | No direct Red Line service | Surface connection required | The park is in the Gomti Nagar and 1090 sightseeing area, outside the operating corridor. Plan a current surface connection. |
| Lucknow Zoo | No direct Red Line service | Surface connection required | Plan a current surface connection for the final leg. |
UPMRC’s current tariff uses seven single-journey slabs based on the number of station intervals traveled.
All rupee-to-dollar figures are approximate. They use the European Central Bank cross-rate for August 4, 2026, when USD 1 equaled ₹95.38.
| Ticket | Price | Ticket booking |
|---|---|---|
| Single journey, 1 station interval | ₹10 (≈ USD 0.10) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 2 station intervals | ₹15 (≈ USD 0.16) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 3 to 6 station intervals | ₹20 (≈ USD 0.21) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 7 to 9 station intervals | ₹30 (≈ USD 0.31) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 10 to 13 station intervals | ₹40 (≈ USD 0.42) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 14 to 17 station intervals | ₹50 (≈ USD 0.52) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| Single journey, 18 or more station intervals | ₹60 (≈ USD 0.63) | Available at stations or via the Lucknow Metro (Official) app: Google Play and Apple App Store |
| National Common Mobility Card | ₹100 issue fee (≈ USD 1.05); recharge from ₹100 to ₹2,000 (≈ USD 1.05 to USD 20.97) | Available at Airtel Payments Bank counters and kiosks at all stations |
Prices as of August 2026; source: UPMRC fare data. USD values use ₹95.38 per USD on August 4, 2026.
UPMRC introduced digital and paper QR tickets on February 16, 2026. Passengers can buy them through the official app listed in the table, designated QR ticket vending machines or QR-capable counters at all 21 stations.
Both store listings identify Uttar Pradesh Metro Rail Corporation Limited as developer or provider and describe ticket booking. Check the developer name before installing, because similarly named travel apps are not authorized sales channels.
QR ticket vending machines accept UPI, while other machines continue to issue tokens. Scan the QR code at the yellow-striped automatic fare collection gates on both entry and exit.
UPMRC launched the National Common Mobility Card on July 21, 2026. It is issued at Airtel Payments Bank counters or kiosks at every station and can be recharged there, at ticket vending machines, in Airtel Thanks or through the QR code printed on the card.
The ₹100 issue fee (≈ USD 1.05) is separate from stored value, and the documented recharge range is ₹100 to ₹2,000 (≈ USD 1.05 to USD 20.97).
Existing GoSmart cards remain valid. Current ticket options include QR tickets, tokens and the National Common Mobility Card.
Published service runs from 6:00 AM to 10:30 PM every day. UPMRC’s timetable lists 6:00 AM as the system-wide first metro time but does not state first departures from each terminal.
The last train leaves both CCS Airport and Munshipulia at 10:30 PM. The complete end-to-end ride is scheduled for 40 minutes, and the published peak headway is 5 minutes 30 seconds.
No stable off-peak or late-evening frequency bands are published, so the peak interval should not be treated as an all-day timetable.
There is no scheduled overnight metro service. UPMRC extended trains to 12:30 AM for selected IPL events in the past, but that event timetable is not a regular night service.
For late airport or railway connections, check UPMRC’s official timetable details and confirm the service span before travel.
Lucknow’s current Red Line operates end to end, but the wider planned network is not complete. Phase 1B is approved and not operational, with procurement and early implementation under way as of August 4, 2026.
The Union Cabinet approved the Charbagh-to-Vasant Kunj East-West Corridor on August 12, 2025. Its approved scope is 11.2 km with 12 stations, comprising seven underground and five elevated stations.
The Phase 1B corridor is planned to use Charbagh as its interchange with the operating route. Approved project expenditure is ₹5,801 crore (≈ USD 608.2 million), while the government-monitored completion target was April 30, 2031, in the May 2026 status.
Procurement in July and August 2026 covered a 6.7 km underground package with seven stations, 45 cars, signaling, power, traction and SCADA. The May 2026 project status did not report the start of main physical civil works.
By May 2026, the New Development Bank had granted concept approval for proposed financing of up to USD 311.4 million. A signed or fully approved loan had not been reported.
The Ministry of Statistics and Programme Implementation dashboard recorded one percent physical progress in April 2026 and zero cumulative expenditure in May. The entries support early implementation status but do not identify piling, tunneling, depot work or station construction.
UPMRC documents security screening with baggage scanners and fixed or handheld metal detectors. Trains carry 24 CCTV cameras, stations have 50 to 60 cameras, and each car provides two passenger emergency intercoms.
Female security staff serve all stations, and women represented more than 30 percent of train-operations staff in March 2026.
Every station provides tactile paths, elevators, ramps, low counters, separate accessible toilets and wide gates. Trains have wheelchair spaces and priority seats, while free wheelchairs and assistance are available on request at all stations.
Braille information, audio announcements, visual warnings and accessible elevator controls support independent journeys. HANDICARE assistance operates 24 hours a day on 9415578606.
Fun Fact: The operator delivered the first 8.5 km Transport Nagar-to-Charbagh section in less than three years from the start of construction, before opening it to commercial passengers in September 2017.
For travel in 2026, read the live route as one complete Red Line. Treat every East-West line or Phase 1B route as future infrastructure until an official opening notice says otherwise.
| Corridor | End points | 2026 status | On the map |
|---|---|---|---|
| Red Line, North-South Corridor | CCS Airport to Munshipulia | Operating, with 21 open stations as of August 4, 2026 | Shown as the sole passenger route on the current network plan |
| Phase 1B, East-West Corridor | Charbagh to Vasant Kunj | Approved; procurement and early implementation under way; not operating; current official target April 30, 2031 | Shown separately as future infrastructure, not as part of the operating route |
The operating Red Line runs directly from CCS Airport to Munshipulia. It is the only passenger corridor shown by current operator data in 2026.
There are 21 open stations on the operating corridor. Of these, 17 are elevated and four are underground.
Only the Red Line, also described as the North-South Corridor, is operating. Phase 1B is approved future infrastructure and does not carry passengers.
The current Red Line is open end to end. The wider network is not complete because the approved Phase 1B East-West Corridor remains non-operational.
Use the PDF Download button above to open a PDF version of the English UPMRC map.
Yes. UPMRC offers English and Hindi views of the same map. The PDF Download on this page uses the English view.
Single fares run from ₹10 (≈ USD 0.10) to ₹60 (≈ USD 0.63). Buy QR tickets at designated machines or counters, or use the Lucknow Metro (Official) app through the Google Play and Apple App Store links in the ticket table.
Published daily service runs from 6:00 AM to 10:30 PM. The final trains leave CCS Airport and Munshipulia at 10:30 PM, while terminal-specific first departures are not stated.
Yes. The Red Line serves the underground CCS Airport station. Hazratganj is a direct 13-station ride costing ₹40 (≈ USD 0.42), and Charbagh is a direct 10-station ride costing ₹30 (≈ USD 0.31). UPMRC did not publish reliable segment journey times for these rides as of August 4, 2026.
Use Charbagh Metro station and leave toward Gate 2. The separate Indian Railways station is about 0.4 km away, with an operator-listed six-minute walk.
Phase 1B will add an 11.2 km Charbagh-to-Vasant Kunj corridor with 12 stations and a Charbagh interchange. It is approved but not operating, with a current target of April 30, 2031.
No direct journey entirely by metro exists because the operating line has no Gomti Nagar station. Use current surface transport; the official city timetable lists routes 101 and PMI-07(A) for relevant connections.
You might also be interested in these metro maps – for comparison or for your next trip: